Banner Health News Center  

Four Banner Health hospitals named top performers


PHOENIX (March 14, 2013) – Four Banner Health hospitals recently have been named HealthStrong™ Top 100 Critical Access Hospitals in the United States.

“We are proud of the efforts of our teams at these facilities who have contributed to achieving this designation for outstanding quality care, outcomes, patient satisfaction and efficiency,” said Jim Ferando, Banner Health Western Region president.

The Banner Health facilities named HealthStrong™ Top 100 Critical Access Hospitals are Banner Lassen Medical Center in Susanville, Calif., Ogallala Community Hospital in Ogallala, Neb., Platte County Memorial Hospital in Wheatland, Wyo., and Washakie Medical Center in Worland, Wyo. The four hospitals scored best among critical access hospitals on the iVantage Health Analytics’ Hospital Strength Index™. 

The Hospital Strength Index is a comprehensive rating of critical access hospitals, and the results recognize the Top 100 Critical Access Hospitals that provide a safety net to communities across rural America. The tool measures 56 different performance metrics, including quality, outcomes, patient perspective, affordability and efficiency. More information can be found at

“Rural hospitals play a critical role in providing needed care to communities across America, yet the challenges are completely different while being as complex as urban hospitals. The need for enhanced performance and a framework for success are equally important as hospitals prepare for the impact of health reform,” said John Morrow, EVP of iVantage Health Analytics.

About Banner Health
Headquartered in Phoenix, Banner Health is one of the largest, nonprofit health care systems in the country. The system manages 23 acute-care hospitals, the Banner Health Network and Banner Medical Group, long-term care centers, outpatient surgery centers and an array of other services including family clinics, home care and hospice services, and a nursing registry. Banner Health is in seven states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Nebraska, Nevada and Wyoming. For more information, visit

Follow Us:  
Facebook IconPinterestTwitter IconBlogYouTube Icon
Jump to top links