Bladder Cancer

Types of Bladder Cancer

Bladder cancer is classified based on the type of cells it contains. The main types of bladder cancer are:

  • Urothelial carcinoma (formerly known as Transitional cell carcinoma) bladder cancer: About 90% of bladder cancers are urothelial carcinomas – cancers that begin in the urothelial cells, which line the inside of the bladder. Cancer that is confined to the lining of the bladder is called non-invasive bladder cancer. Urothelial cancers can develop anywhere from the renal pelvis, the ureters, the bladder, and the urethra.
  • Squamous cell bladder cancer: This type of bladder cancer begins in squamous cells, which are thin, flat cells that may form in the bladder after long-term infection or irritation. These cancers occur less often than transitional cell cancers, but they may be more aggressive.
  • Adenocarcinoma: Bladder cancer that develops in the inner lining of the bladder as a result of chronic irritation and inflammation. This type of bladder cancer tends to be aggressive.
  • Other rare subtypes (e.g. small-cell carcinomas of the bladder)

Bladder Cancer locations near me

Set your location to see locations close to you


Get the latest health tips!

Sign up for our healthy living newsletter