Health Tip: Caring for a Person With Alzheimer's

(HealthDay News) -- If you are caring for a loved one who has Alzheimer's disease, you may develop feelings of grief as the person starts to change, the Alzheimer's Foundation says.

There are five phases of grieving: denial, anger, guilt, sadness and acceptance.

The association suggests how to cope with grief and loss:

  • Face your feelings and accept them.

  • Prepare to have feelings of loss as dementia progresses.

  • Understand that no two people grieve in exactly the same way.

  • Talk with someone you trust about your feelings.

  • Stay involved in activities that you enjoy.

  • Join a support group.

  • Accept things that you cannot change.

  • Take care of yourself.